Wanting to Go International on Etsy

Most crafts for my store are done for customers offline. My online store is kind of sitting there and I want more customers but I’m not confident enough to seek them out. Its ironic that I have a store because I don’t like hawking my wares in people’s faces for money. I just want to offer people cute, unique things in the hopes that they might want to buy it so I can add the money to my savings and walk away feeling like they got something nice and handmade because they really like it or know someone who will love and cherish it. Not very business savvy. To me, crafting is not a hobby, its an art. Having a store to sell people stuff is the hobby.

Still…

One plan is to go international by offering international shipping on Etsy. This appears to be an option only people who have an established customer base or people who have the money to attract customers by covering the costs of shipping outside of their country.

My plan is to get an average shipping price from every place Etsy can ship to and list my items between the U.S. shipping price and the highest shipping price. Which I haven’t done because IT WILL TAKE FOREVER.

So I thought Plan B:

For the time being, start small. One or two places like China and Canada or the U.K. That will require way less tedium.

 

Leave a Reply

